Back to All Events

Leaps and Bounds Music Festival & APRA AMCOS present, SONGS AND STORIES – SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND

Tickets $12+BF (for one show) or $20 +BF (for both shows, presale only)/$15 on door. Doors 8.00pm.

The Song and Stories nights offer a genuine insight in to the craft of song writing from 20 different perspectives in various stages of artists’ careers. Some of the participants are still in high school while others have been writing and performing music for more than four decades. The focus of the night is essentially is the song-writing process and the stories that inspired something which then goes on to have a life of its own.

Each evening will features ten songwriters delivering a total of 30 songs over two sets. Some of the songwriters generally play solo while others will be performing without their band behind them for the first time. Five musicians will be on stage at the same time, taking a turn to introduce and play a song in three rounds.

This is the second year that the Songs and Stories series is part of the Leaps and Bounds Music Festival. The format proved to be popular with both audiences and performers last year and its return anticipated. Programmed as an early week event on a Tuesday, the art of listening is not overly commanding, especially when presented with some moving and entertaining preludes to songs and melodies. A sense of camaraderie also unfolds on stage between the songwriters during the rounds as anecdotes, heartaches and laughs are shared.

Appearing over the two weeks are the following Melbourne based songwriters who have a rock, indie, pop, folk, electronic and country musical persuasion including Alice Sky, Amaya Laucirica, Arun Roberts, Ben Mastwyk, Ben Salter, Bob Harrow, Brooke Russell, Charm of Finches, Chris Pickering, Elizabeth Barker, Emily Ulman, Fiona Lee Maynard, Gareth Ed Lindsay, Jack Howard, James Henry, Jim Lawrie, Lachlan Bryan, Laura Imbruglia, Liam Gerner and Quang

Alice Skye
Amaya Laucirica
Arun Roberts (Dirt Hand)
Bob Harrow (Immigrant Union)
Chris Pickering
Emily Ulman
Fiona Lee Maynard
Jack Howard
Jim Lawrie
Laura Imbruglia